News Details

25 Heroes to Receive City’s Top Award

Bellflower’s 23rd Annual BRAVO Awards Set For February 9, 2017

The City of Bellflower will honor twenty-five heroes at the 23rd annual BRAVO Awards held on Thursday, February 9th, 2017.

The BRAVO Awards honor individuals based in Bellflower who performed outstanding acts of valor, heroism and community service during the past year. The award winners this year are as follows:  C.J. Nord, Tiara Gose, Jerry Sweet, Judy Cooper, Linda & Dean Briscoe, LA County Fire Department - Captain Kevin Lalor, Firefighter Specialist Ted Borges, Firefighter Paramedic Troy Boocock, Firefighter Paramedic Adam Knutson, Firefighter Paramedic Ron Castro, Fire Dispatcher II Jonathon Plasencia, L.A. County Sheriff’s Department - Sergeant Oscar Butao, Sergeant Bryan Sirkel, Lieutenant Timothy B. Milliman, Deputy Micheal Abbot, Deputy Christopher Allende, Deputy Lawrence Cervantes, Deputy James Colbert, Deputy Eric Saavedra, Deputy Ayub Manjra, Deputy Randolph Myers, Deputy Morgan Nyberg, Deputy Laila Razo, Deputy Chad Vanden Berg, and two high school essay contest winners, Yvette Valtierra and Zechariah Liong.

Award-winning performer and broadcaster, Roy Firestone, will serve as the Keynote Speaker for this year’s event. Firestone is a seven-time Emmy Award-winning and seven-time cable ACE Award-winning host, interviewer, narrator, writer, and producer. Firestone has interviewed more than 5,000 athletes, musicians, actors, political figures, writers and filmmakers. Sports Illustrated calls Firestone "The best interviewer in the business."  In the academy award winning film, Jerry Maguire, Firestone plays himself as he interviews Jerry’s sole client, Rod Tidwell, on national TV and brings him to tears. He is also the author of two best-selling books, Up Close with Roy Firestone, and Don’t make me cry, Roy.

Hosting this year’s event is NBC4’s Weekend Evening Co-anchor and General Assignment Reporter Adrian Arambulo. He is a passionate journalist that who believes that it is his responsibility to provide viewers with news that impacts their lives. His favorite stories to cover are about people overcoming obstacles and those who step up to help others. Arambulo has been recognized with two Lone Star Emmys for ‘Best Live News Reporter’ and for ‘Breaking News: Continuing Coverage.’

LA County Supervisor Janice Hahn, District Attorney Jackie Lacey, LA County Fire Chief Daryl L. Osby, and LA County Sheriff Chief Buddy Goldman are all featured speakers in this year’s lineup. Additional program highlights include students from Bellflower High School’s Vocal Ensemble who will be singing the National Anthem the posting of the Colors by the Los Angeles County Fire Department’s Honor Guard.   

The ceremony will begin at 11:00 a.m. in the William and Jane Bristol Auditorium (16600 Civic Center Dr., Bellflower) and is free and open to the public. The BRAVO Awards ceremony is funded through sponsorships from area businesses and individuals and represents one of the City of Bellflower’s most prestigious honors.

For more information about the event visit the City’s website at or call (562) 804-1424 ext. 2267.